Cheap and Cheerful Chickpeas. Alliteration. Love it.

1 May

Picture this: there’s barely anything in the cupboard, the only thing in the fridge is a jar of tomato paste, a tin of chickpeas left over by my flatmate and a container of mouldy spaghetti that’s been there since we moved in six months ago.

It’s lunch time. It’s raining outside. I can’t really get to the supermarket. Or more, I don’t want to. Despite my penchant for cooking I’m also quite lazy.

I’m thinking I might have to succumb to 2-minute noodles and soy sauce with a side of sliced up carrot. Hey, I’ve (regrettably) done it before.

But wait, what’s that? A limp bunch of continental parsley from the other night’s dinner party? An onion? A clove of garlic?

It’s a recipe for a good lunch, that’s what.

I made this recipe for myself and it was the perfect amount for one person. But here I’m making it for two – after all, sharing is caring (and an ultimately cheaper grocery bill).

The 4-bean version

Cheapest Chickpeas on Toast

1 TBSP olive oil
Half a brown onion, finely chopped
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 TBSP dried mixed herbs
One tin of chickpeas, drained
2 TBSP tomato paste
½ cup flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
2 slices of bread
Butter (optional)

1. Heat oil in a frying pan
2. Add onion and garlic and fry until soft and glassy
3. Add dried mixed herbs and stir through
4. Add chickpeas and stir around for a few minutes
5. Add tomato paste and stir through until everything’s warm and starting to smell good
6. Season with salt and pepper
7. Stir through parsley for a few seconds
8. Toast your bread and butter it if you want (I take the cheaper option and leave it plain)
9. Spoon the chickpea mixture onto the toast and presto, lunch for two for less than $3.

I’ve also done this recipe with tinned beans – you can use any kind. I’ve also added left over grated parmesan and omitted the parsley. It’s really up to you what you put in it. I invite you to invent.

Leave a Reply

