Welcome, welcome to my humble blog.

1 May

I’ve always meant to start a blog but never had the time (read: the motivation) to sit down and treat myself to hours of narcissistic self-indulgence.

But so many around me are jumping on the blogging bandwagon so I thought it was high time I jumped on too. I mean, who doesn’t have a blog these days? It’s, like, totally the trend du jour along with Justin Bieber and tired jokes about Kate’s party.

So what, you might ask, is my blog to be about? Well, I’ve never been one to divulge my personal issues online (wanky Facebook statuses aside) so something about my day-to-day life is out of the question.

But I do love food and have wanted to write about food for a long time now. I know, I know, there are millions of food blogs on the net and why should mine be any different? To be honest, it’s probably not. I think almost every niche possible has been covered in the blogosphere.

But I’ll try to give you the hard sell anyway. Many food blogs review expensive restaurants and food shops, helping gourmands know where to go to get the best Russian caviar or French truffles. This one doesn’t.

Others have elaborate recipes that one can marvel at but never have the courage to try and accomplish. Don’t expect that here.

And others still combine the two, making me question where on earth they get the time to eat, cook, blog and maintain a normal life. I’m not one of those people.

It may seem I’ve done a terrible job of convincing you to keep reading but the lack of luxury dining and insane culinary skill is where my blog gets its hook.

I’m a student and a poor one at that. Having recently moved out of home, my budget is very limited in terms of what I can cook and where I can eat out. I try to make the most of what I’ve got, creating fairly decent meals for my flatmate and myself out of very basic ingredients.

I think there’s a lack of guidance out there for students living out of home. I hear of so many of my counterparts eating loads of Mi Goreng and take away (which is often expensive).

I guess I just want to show that cooking your own food can be easy and affordable. I do love to cook but I’m no Masterchef. I’m not here to provide recipes for those with astounding cooking expertise to master them. Cooking can be simple and especially for a student who’s already hard-pressed for time, balancing work and university and a moderate amount of social activity, it really needs to be.

Most of the time I make stuff up – adding a pinch of this and a handful of that. Rarely do I measure things when I’m using my own judgment. Often this means things need a LOT of tweaking before they’re edible and things so strange they work make their way into my food. But never fear – everything I put on here is tested by my incredibly critical flatmate who proclaims my food as ‘tasty’ or ‘OK’ (she’s also evidently articulate). You’ll only see ‘tasty’.
I also want to try the cheapest places to eat around Sydney. The dingy and often slightly unhygienic student haunts. Eating out doesn’t have to cost the world, nor a week’s rent.

Occasionally I’ll splash out and spend more than $5 on a single item but hey, you need the odd indulgence to maintain your sanity.

So here it is: a documentation of my years out of home and what I’m cooking and eating to get through them.

One Response to “Welcome, welcome to my humble blog.”

  1. Eleanor May 6, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    I’m totally joking by the way! I love that you started it on your own and definitely have no hard feelings, I could never in the history of life be angry at you Gemma 🙂 Okay now I want to praise your lovely writing: I have just read all your entries in reverse chronological order and really enjoyed all of them. You write wonderfully! I like your tone and choice of adjectives and the fact that it kind of sounds like you talking, but just transcribed. I am SO GLAD you take inspiration from The OC. I spent many nights in my youth dreaming of Ryan cooking me grilled cheese. I’m expecting an update on dumplings soon!
    Love Eleanor xx

Leave a Reply

