Berry Heavenly.

11 Jul

Now I don’t normally do this (preferring instead to gorge myself on way too much food and use the excuse of needing to review as many different options as possible) but the other night I treated myself to a single slice of cheesecake heaven.

A friend and I decided to suburb-hop for dessert after having dinner at the local, making our way to Glebe Point Road, Glebe, for some sugary delights. One of my constant go-tos is Badde Manors, a vegetarian cafe that serves up breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee, gelato and, my favourite part of all, dessert. There are choices aplenty: sticky date pudding, triple chocolate brownies, chocolate torte, cannoli, strudels, tiramisu and what I now reckon is the best cheesecake in town.

As a devout chocolate fan who is incapable of choosing anything else for dessert, I was at first apprehensive about the blackberry cheesecake ($6.50). I’ve always had mixed opinions on the cheesecake, finding most of them pretty unappealing. I’ll never warm up to the cold, refrigerated variety and have only in recent years started to like the baked kind. But upon recommendation from my friend, I was told it would change my life. I’m not quite sure it’s up there with graduating high school, the birth of my siblings nor The OC, but it definitely changed my timeworn dessert-eating habits.

As I relentlessly repeated to my (quickly becoming bored) friend, ‘it’s just so creamy’. The cream cheese filling is smooth and almost velvety in texture, taking mere seconds to dissolve on your tongue and slide blissfully down your throat. Sorry, I just felt like being a bit lame. It is intensely sweet and could easily become overbearing, but the slight sourness to the blackberries ensures your capability of devouring the entire thing. The berries are fat and flavoursome and, unlike some desserts I’ve tried, are in no way skimped on. The pastry seems to be a butter and biscuit mix but holds together really well. The odd cheesecake in the past has had flimsy pastry that falls apart upon the insertion of a fork but this one can hold its own. But that’s not to say it’s in any way thick and cumbersome: it is delicate and buttery and utterly delicious.

Blackberry Cheesecake.

Go forth, take your hard-earned money and indulge yourself in this heavenly delight. As has happened for some, it may be a pivotal life moment. Or perhaps it’ll just change your mind about the humble cheesecake.

Badde Manors

37 Glebe Point Road, Glebe

Sydney

Ph: (02) 9660 3797‎

2 Responses to “Berry Heavenly.”

  1. Helen (grabyourfork) July 13, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    I haven’t had the cheesecake here but Badde Manors definitely make one of the best chai lattes in Sydney.

    So glad you’ve started a food blog too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salad at a Steal. « The Cheap Glut - July 19, 2010

    […] Jul To me Winter is all about warm things. Fudgey, oozy, gooey, sticky, creamy, carby things. Pasta, stew, potatoes, roasts and pies are all such things that come to mind. […]

Leave a comment